Press Release

Rasmussen College Announces Second Round Of 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship Recipients

Three Wausau-Area Residents Receive Academic Scholarships to Apply Toward Bachelor’s and Associate’s Degrees Through Wausau Campus

August 24, 2010

WAUSAU, Wis, (August 24, 2010) – Local residents Jerica Johanning, Magen Malueg and Adam Michlein are among 34 recipients to be awarded $5,000 and $10,000 scholarships through the Rasmussen College 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship program, which will award up to $1 million in scholarship money to students nationwide throughout 2010. Both Johanning and Malueg are Birnamwood residents, while Michlein currently resides in Schofield.

A $10,000 scholarship will benefit Johanning’s completion of a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration, and a $5,000 scholarship will support Malueg’s completion of an Associate’s Degree in Paralegal.  Michlein received a $10,000 scholarship that will go toward his Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration. The Scholarship Selection Committee chose these recipients from nearly 1,300 applicants across the country.

“We are excited to welcome Jerica, Magen and Adam to our Wausau campus as they pursue their degrees,” Rasmussen College Campus Director Sue Williams said. “The 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship allows us the opportunity to give back to our community, make higher education more attainable to more people, and celebrate the extensive history of Rasmussen College.”

In March 2010, Rasmussen College announced that it would celebrate its 110-year anniversary by awarding 110 academic scholarships, valued up to $1 million, to people interested in attending Rasmussen College. The first 25 winners were announced in May 2010. This is only the second of four rounds of awards.

“Rasmussen established the 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship to celebrate our history in higher education and to support students who have demonstrated a commitment to obtaining a college degree,” Rasmussen College President Kristi Waite said. “This scholarship is intended to help students reach their education goals and can be applied toward any education-related costs incurred at Rasmussen College.”

Founded in 1900 in Stillwater, Minn., Rasmussen College serves more than 15,000 students nationwide through its network of campuses and online degree programs. Rasmussen College offers a wide range of Bachelor’s and Associate’s degree programs in business, technology and design, healthcare, education, justice studies, and nursing. Rasmussen College is regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, a member of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Individuals interested in applying for the remaining 110-Year Anniversary Scholarships may complete the scholarship application available online at

Applications will be accepted and considered through December 31, 2010. For additional information about Rasmussen College, visit

Rasmussen College is a regionally accredited private college and Public Benefit Corporation that is dedicated to changing lives through high-demand educational programs and public service. Rasmussen College offers Certificate and Diploma programs through Associate's and Bachelor's degrees online and across its 24 Midwest and Florida campuses in a supportive, student-centered and career-focused environment. Since 1900, Rasmussen College has been dedicated to being a primary contributor to the growth and development of the communities it serves. As a Benefit Corporation, Rasmussen College is committed to helping change lives through education and making a positive impact on society through public service and a variety of community-based initiatives. For more information about Rasmussen College, please visit

Download Press Release