Press Release

Rasmussen College Announces Third Round Of 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship Recipients

Riverview Resident Joaquin Rosales Receives $5,000 Academic Scholarship to Apply Toward Associate's in Network Administration Program at Tampa/Brandon Campus

December 6, 2010

Erin Werthman
Media: (866) 257-8253
Mobile: 413-636-6758

TAMPA, Fla., (December 6, 2010) – Local resident Joaquin Rosales has been named a recipient of the Rasmussen College 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship. An initial group of 25 scholarship recipients was announced in May 2010, with a second round following in August. Rosales is one of 26 scholarship recipients named in a third announcement. The $5,000 scholarship will benefit his completion of the Associate’s in Network Administration degree program through Rasmussen College Tampa/Brandon. The Scholarship Selection Committee chose Rosales from nearly1,800 applicants across the country.

Joaquin will formally be presented with his scholarship at a Ribbon Cutting Ceremony for the new Tampa/Brandon campus on Thursday, December 9that noon. Tampa/Brandon is the newest campus of Rasmussen College; it began classes in October of this year.

“We are delighted to have Joaquin Rosales as a student at our campus, where he will pursue his career goal of becoming a computer network professional through our expanding School of Technology and Design,” Rasmussen College Tampa/Brandon Campus Director Maggie Cook said. “The 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship allows us the opportunity to give back to our community, make higher education more attainable to more people, and celebrate the extensive history of Rasmussen College.”

In March 2010, Rasmussen College announced that it would celebrate its 110-year anniversary by awarding 110 academic scholarships, valued up to $1 million, to people interested in attending Rasmussen College. This is the third of four rounds of awards.

“Rasmussen College established the 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship to celebrate our history and leadership in higher education and to support students who have demonstrated a commitment to obtaining a college degree,” Rasmussen College President Kristi Waite said. “This scholarship is intended to help students reach their education goals and can be applied toward any education-related costs incurred at Rasmussen College.”

Founded in 1900 in Stillwater, Minn., Rasmussen College serves more than 15,000 students nationwide through its network of campuses and online degree programs. Rasmussen College offers a wide range of Bachelor’s and Associate’s degrees in business, technology and design, healthcare, education, justice studies, and nursing. Rasmussen College is regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, a member of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Individuals interested in applying for the remaining 110-Year Anniversary Scholarships may complete the scholarship application available online

Final round applications will be accepted and considered through December 31, 2010. Winners will be announced in late January 2011. For additional information about Rasmussen College, visit

Rasmussen College is a regionally accredited private college and Public Benefit Corporation that is dedicated to changing lives through high-demand educational programs and public service. Rasmussen College offers Certificate and Diploma programs through Associate's and Bachelor's degrees online and across its 24 Midwest and Florida campuses in a supportive, student-centered and career-focused environment. Since 1900, Rasmussen College has been dedicated to being a primary contributor to the growth and development of the communities it serves. As a Benefit Corporation, Rasmussen College is committed to helping change lives through education and making a positive impact on society through public service and a variety of community-based initiatives. For more information about Rasmussen College, please visit

Download Press Release