Press Release

Rasmussen College Announces Third Round Of 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship Recipients

Ocala Resident Raymond Soto Receives $5,000 Academic Scholarship to Apply Toward Associate's Degree in Information Systems Management through Ocala Campus

December 7, 2010

Erin Werthman
Media: (866) 257-8253
Mobile: 413-636-6758

OCALA, Fla., (December 7, 2010) – Ocala resident Raymond Soto has been named a recipient of the Rasmussen College 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship. An initial group of 25 scholarship recipients was announced in May 2010, with a second round following in August. Soto is one of 26 scholarship recipients named in a third announcement. The $5,000 scholarship will benefit his completion of an Associate’s degree in Information Systems Management through Rasmussen College Ocala. The Scholarship Selection Committee chose Soto from nearly 1,800 applicants across the country.

“We look forward to watching Raymond Soto grow professionally through his education as he pursues his degree through our School of Technology and Design and works toward his goal of becoming a network security and forensic specialist,” Rasmussen College Ocala Campus Director Pete Beasley said. “The 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship allows us the opportunity to give back to our community, make higher education more attainable to more people, and celebrate the extensive history of Rasmussen College.”

In March 2010, Rasmussen College announced that it would celebrate its 110-year anniversary by awarding 110 academic scholarships, valued up to $1 million, to people interested in attending Rasmussen College. This is the third of four rounds of awards.

“Rasmussen College established the 110-Year Anniversary Scholarship to celebrate our history and leadership in higher education and to support students who have demonstrated a commitment to obtaining a college degree,” Rasmussen College President Kristi Waite said. “This scholarship is intended to help students reach their education goals and can be applied toward any education-related costs incurred at Rasmussen College.”

Founded in 1900 in Stillwater, Minn., Rasmussen College serves more than 15,000 students nationwide through its network of campuses and online degree programs. Rasmussen College offers a wide range of Bachelor’s and Associate’s degrees in business, technology and design, healthcare, education, justice studies, and nursing. Rasmussen College is regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, a member of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Individuals interested in applying for the remaining 110-Year Anniversary Scholarships may complete the scholarship application available online at

Final round applications will be accepted and considered through December 31, 2010. Winners will be announced in late January 2011. For additional information about Rasmussen College, visit

Rasmussen College is a regionally accredited private college and Public Benefit Corporation that is dedicated to changing lives through high-demand educational programs and public service. Rasmussen College offers Certificate and Diploma programs through Associate's and Bachelor's degrees online and across its 24 Midwest and Florida campuses in a supportive, student-centered and career-focused environment. Since 1900, Rasmussen College has been dedicated to being a primary contributor to the growth and development of the communities it serves. As a Benefit Corporation, Rasmussen College is committed to helping change lives through education and making a positive impact on society through public service and a variety of community-based initiatives. For more information about Rasmussen College, please visit

Download Press Release