A Measure of Quality

Accreditation means an institution meets certain standards of educational quality and is being continually reviewed to uphold those standards. Rasmussen University is committed to continuous improvement and providing high-quality education to all of our students.

Rasmussen University: Institutional Accreditation

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission
hlcommission.org | 800-621-7440

Rasmussen University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, an institutional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Various Types of Accreditation at Rasmussen University

Institutional Accreditation

There are six major accrediting bodies in the United States. Accreditation ensures that an institution’s academic program meets acceptable levels of quality. Achieving accreditation places a career-focused establishment like Rasmussen University among a select group of educational institutions.

Programmatic Accreditation

Programmatic, specialized or professional accreditation is given to specific programs or areas of study within an institution that has already received accreditation from a separate accrediting body, such as regional accreditation. The accreditation process is based on peer review and established standards, including a focus on academic quality and learner support. Programmatic accreditation allows individual programs to distinguish their curriculum and faculty within their specific fields.

State Authorizations and Licensing

State authorization/licensing is the process of complying with state higher education regulations. Rasmussen University maintains state authorization in order to operate campuses across six states and to enroll students into online programs nationwide.

Accreditation by Program

Programmatic Accreditation Information by Program

Accreditation by Accrediting Body

  • Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES)
  • Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)
  • Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP)
  • Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM)
  • Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE)
  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)
  • Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT)
  • National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS)

State Authorization and Licensing


Rasmussen University is Licensed by the Commission for Independent Education, Florida Department of Education. Additional information regarding this institution may be obtained by contacting the Commission for Independent Education.

Commission for Independent Education
325 West Gaines Street
Suite 1414
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
Toll-free 888-224-6684


Rasmussen University is authorized to operate as a postsecondary educational institution by the Illinois Board of Higher Education.

Illinois Board of Higher Education
431 East Adams, 2nd Floor
Springfield, IL 62701


Rasmussen University has obtained certificates of approval from the Kansas Board of Regents, allowing it to operate as a postsecondary educational institution in the State of Kansas.

Kansas Board of Regents
1000 SW Jackson Street
Suite 520
Topeka, KS 66612


Rasmussen University is registered with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to Minnesota Statutes sections 136A.61 to 136A.71. Registration is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions.

Minnesota Office of Higher Education
1450 Energy Park Drive
Suite 350
St. Paul, MN 55108

North Dakota

The North Dakota State Board of Higher Education has authorized Rasmussen University to operate in North Dakota under North Dakota Century Code 15-18.1.

North Dakota University System
600 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0230


The Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services, Educational Approval Program has approved Rasmussen University to operate according to Wis. Stat. §440.52 and Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 404.

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services, Educational Approval Program
4822 Madison Yards Way
Madison, WI 53705

National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements

National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements

Rasmussen University has been approved by Minnesota to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements. The NC-SARA is a voluntary, regional approach to state oversight of postsecondary distance education. Learn more about the NC-SARA and their mission by visiting their website at nc-sara.org.


We Support Our Veterans

Rasmussen University is approved for Veteran’s Education Benefits by the Veterans Affairs State Approving Agencies in Florida, Illinois, Kansas, Minnesota, North Dakota and Wisconsin. More information about benefits and the GI Bill® can be found at benefits.va.gov/gibill.